Women that inspire!


I’ve just read a quote on Marcie’s blog at:

http://themidlifesecondwife.wordpress.com/2011/11/12/walk-as-though-your-life-depends-on-it/

I hope she doesn’t mind me putting up the link.  It got me thinking about women that inspire, there are of course all these female celebrities that are supposed to provide inspiration for us all. When I was about nine or ten, I had a Ladybird book about Queen Elizabeth I which I knew then, off by heart from cover to cover and I would probably say that this in a sense,  has always stayed with me. A drawing of Elizabeth astride her horse giving her speech to her army:

I know I have the body of a weak and feeble woman, but I have the heart and stomach of a king, and of a king of England too.

Sorry, I couldn’t remember it exactly so I’ve cheated and I also hope that I’ve recalled the event correctly.
But back to what I wanted to say.
I would hope that we can all find women in our own lives, outside of family, that we admire. I have two friends in their seventies who volunteer at a charity shop, I certainly hope that in twenty years time I have their vigour, energy and humour (I believe that the lack of worrying about being pc will come in time). I also have a neighbour of a similar age who does Yoga and looks great and is another really sweet lady. These are the women that I think we should give credit to; they have lived ordinary lives in the way that we do, faced ups and downs and our own lives can be enriched by having them as part of it.
This entry was posted in blogging, Books, Lifestyle, Writers, blogging, authors. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Women that inspire!

  1. stamp price says:

    i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Comments welcome.

