Self Promotion! Ugh!


This is how I feel today.

Self Promotion is hard, especially if it’s not something that you are used to. I suppose really its about self confidence, I do admire people that have the get-up-and-go that, to my mind, it requires but still, ugh. It is a lot easier to say that someone or something else is brilliant rather than oneself. Is that sad? Probably.

I have read and listened to so many ‘self-help’ theories that I know what I should do but actually doing it is another matter. It must be fear, opening up and putting yourself out there. Open to criticism? but really you don’t know that you will be criticised, you may be, but there is also a 50-50 chance that it will be praise? Where does this fear come from? Your heart tells you one thing but your mind says the opposite.

I would like to write a quote from Paul Coelho in his book  ‘Life’  p70.

‘Whenever we need to make a very important decision, it is best to trust impulse and passion,

because reason usually tries to remove us from our dream.

Saying that the time is not yet right.

Reason is afraid of defeat,

but intuition enjoys life and its challenges.’

 

 

 

This entry was posted in blogging, Books, Writers, blogging, authors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self Promotion! Ugh!

  1. davidrory says:

    Hi there. I blogged today on this subject. You might find it resonates so do stop by and take a look. I stumbled upon you moments before I must put down the Mac and go make dinner for my homecoming beloved Brigitte.
    I’ll be back and will read more. I know your fears, keep going, keep trying, be bold and do it for the love of the creative buzz, the rest will follow. It takes much longer than many expect so don’t lose heart.
    My blog: http://bit.ly/lLpWSf
    Regards, davidrory

  2. seo by leon says:

    Definitely consider that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to understand of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as folks think about worries that they just don’t recognise about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as outlined out the whole thing with no need side-effects , other people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Comments welcome.

